We embrace the infinite theatrical potential of intimate live performance. We contemplate questions that inspire us and devise theater pieces which respond to and engage with the world in which we live. We address the ambivalence, terror and exhilaration of our age on the scale of person-to-person through theater that utilizes a simplicity of means to achieve richness of expression. Our original, story-driven, visceral theater straddles the line between mainstream and experimental, elevates design while valuing strong storytelling, and pulls you close and doesn’t let go. We strive to create great happenings in small rooms, theater as close as a whisper in your ear or a stranger’s hand brushing yours.  Intimacy is our way in.

Artistic Director Adrienne Campbell-Holt leads a 16-member ensemble of actors, playwrights and designers to nurture the next generation of theater artists through the development and production of new plays and by providing arts education to students from underserved NYC public schools. Over 8 years, Colt Coeur has produced 11 world premieres; developed 36 plays; and provided free arts education for over 120 students.


All 12 of Colt Coeur’s world premieres explored themes of resonance to our times while ranging in subject matter from teen pregnancy, to postpartum depression and the struggle to make ends meet for a working-class family, to the underlying appetite for new frontiers that is manifest in applicants looking to travel on a one-way mission to Mars. These productions all received rave reviews and have enabled us to build an audience base. Steven Levenson’s SEVEN MINUTES IN HEAVEN was selected by Ars Nova for ANTFEST and subsequently transferred to the Emerging America Festival in Boston before running for 3 weeks at HERE. Lucas Kavner’s FISH EYE ran for 3 weeks at HERE and was included in NY Magazine’s “Best of 2011″ list. Eliza Clark’s RECALL had a 4-week run at the Wild Project and also received rave reviews. Nikole Beckwith’s satire EVERYTHING IS OURS ran for 4 weeks in 2013 at HERE and extended due to demand. Ruby Spiegel’s DRY LAND made NYPost’s Top 10 of 2014 list and was recently published in American Theater magazine (along with photographs from our production).  MJ Kaufman’s HOW TO LIVE ON EARTH enjoyed a 4-week run in the fall of 2015 and was featured on MSNBC’s “The Last Word with Lawrence O’Donell. 2016 was among Colt Coeur’s fullest season to date – the company produced two world premieres. With Rattlestick Playwrights Theater, CAL IN CAMO was celebrated by Ben Brantley in the New York Times as a “mystical cocktail of a play” and extended due to demand. Ana Nogueira’s play EMPATHITRAX premiered at HERE, and was celebrated for its universality, bravery and heart. In 2018, ZÜRICH by Amelia Roper, premiered at New York Theatre Workshop’s inaugural Next Door Series and was nominated for 4 New York Innovative Theatre Awards. Most recently, JOAN, by Stephen Belber, starred Johanna Day, Adam Harrington & Marjan Neshat and ran at HERE.  HATEF**K, by Rehana Lew Mirza, was our 11th world premiere, and ran March 3-31, 2019 at the WP Theater, (in a co-production with WP Theater). Most recently, EUREKA DAY, by Jonathan Spector was a New York Times Critic’s Pick and enjoyed a sold-out run in August & September 2019. Nearly all of these plays have also been published and will receive future productions around the US and abroad.

Play Hotel

Our primary arena for developing new work is held 4 times/year. Workshops last 4-10 days, culminating in a free public presentation. Dialogue between artists and audience are held after each presentation. Past writers include: Clare Barron, Kate Cortesi, Obehi Janice, Sylvia Khoury, Lily Padilla, Jeff Talbott, and Max Posner.

Parity plays festival

Colt Coeur founded its annual Parity Plays Festival in 2014. This Festival features public readings of four new plays and aims to celebrate the work of female and trans playwrights and directors. Past playwrights and directors include: Lindsey Ferrentino, Antoinette Nwandu, Danya Taymor, Tamilla Woodard, Pirronne Yousefzadeh, and Cate Yu. In 2017 & 2019 Colt Coeur partnered with the WP Theater to co-produce this Annual Festival.

Education Initiative

Company members serve as the Teaching Artists for this free annual play-making intensive which we offer NYC public school students ages 11-15 during the NYC public school Spring break. Student alums of the program return as paid Student Leaders and professional actors and playwrights serve as our Teaching Artists.

Founding Artistic Director:
Adrienne Campbell-Holt

Managing Director: 
Amy Ashton

Board of Directors:
Erica Rotstein, Chair
Rachel DeMatteo, Treasurer
Amy Groeschel, Secretary
Adrienne Campbell-Holt, ex-officio
Julia Jones, Celia Keenan-Bolger, Roberta Kelly, Ray Levin, Kate Cullen Roberts, & AJ Strasser

Artistic Associates:
Amy Altadonna*, Teddy Bergman*, Molly Carden, Kate Cortesi, Ato Essandoh, Amy Groeschel*, Adam Harrington, Justice Hehir, Steven Levenson*, Lynne Lipton, MJ Kaufman, Natalie Margolin, Eden Marryshow, John McDermott, Ana Nogueira, Kate Cullen Roberts*, Matt Stadelmann*, Joe Tippett*, Brian Wiles, & Grant Yeager*

CoCo Residents (2019-2020):
Tara Elliott, Emma Goidel, Obehi Janice, J. Mehr Kaur,
& Portia Krieger

CoCo Education Initiative Co-Leaders (2019):
Xandra Clark & Annelise Nielson

Crystal Arnette / Adventure We Can

CoCo Interns (2019):
Sidikha Ashraf, Lucy Consagra, Sandy D’Oria, Caroline Sarkozi, Kat Scott, Nola Sloan, & Talia Weingarten

* Founding member